top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarly Chartier

Chris Mellen

Updated: Aug 21, 2020


Your Story



Who are you ? I am a Calgary born- Manitoban who enjoys business and dirtbikes. Also, owner of Twozerofour Skateshop.

Where are you from ? I was born in Calgary 1980

Where do you live now? outside of Petersfield, Mb

Where do you work? What do they provide and what is your role? I own Twozerofour Skateshop in Selkirk, Mb We are a snowboard/skateboard/lifestyle store. We have added a full screen printing shop a few years ago as well. My role is basically problem solving like any other business owner. From Pre-booking inventory to making sure the bathroom is clean, I file it all under problem solving.

How did you end up working where you do now? I’ve essentially been in retail since I was 12. I got sponsored for motocross by a gear company and started selling it at the races. It just grew from there.

Where do you volunteer? I don’t have a set organization but I try and help out anywhere I can. I was on the Manitoba Motocross board for 2 years and I was part of the Selkirk Skatepark Association that got our amazing skatepark built. That was a great group of people.

How did you find yourself as a volunteering there? I have a love for both moto and skateboarding.

What does your volunteering provide? Honestly I’m not sure Carly thinks he provides a welcoming face behind his business and the social networking of getting his skate boarding community known to other groups.

What does a community mean to you? A community, whether it be a town or a group of people, care for each other’s well being and help each other when someone in your community needs it.

What community are you apart of ? I try to stay active in the local business community as well as the local skate/snow/motocross scene.

Who else is involved in your community? It seems like it grows everyday.

How does everyone work together within your community? Everyone is good at something. Find out what that is and focus on it.

What are the challenges your community faces? This year the covid-19 pandemic has changed the way most peoples day to day lives run and how businesses operate. Adapting and being progressive is the key.

What do you think is the impact of your community? What do they offer to others or those involved? I’m sorry I’m not sure. Carly says that Chris does so much for the community that isn't seen and that he probably doesn't realize upfront the impact he is making. The youth in our community really look up to Chris and all his employees at the shop, they are well looked after in so many ways. Its not uncommon for the guys are the shop to take time to talk to youth and families about what they need, or how they can help. His group has really shifted the typical stereotype of youth who skateboard for many generations.

What is something you would like to create in your community or group? Growth and positive communication.

What is your biggest reason for being apart of your community? I like helping people. In my life I have met a lot of amazing people that I try and help out and they help me in return. It’s a great circle.

What has been the best outcome of your community? do you have a success story you'd like to share? Hmmm. I’d have to think more into this.

How has your involvement or work in the community changed you? How are your a different person now because of it? I’m not sure if my involvement or work in the community has changed me. I guess it’s tough looking in rather than out.

What are some of the lessons you have learned? Be nice to everyone, and if you can help someone, do it.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page