top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarly Chartier

Jacqueline Bercier


What does community mean to you? The people that make this place “move”. The numerous organizations, families, individuals, businesses that keep moving our community forward, and keep it positive for all that live here. Also, it means a group of people that have something in common - a culture or connection of culture to make positive changes.

What communities are you apart of? Selkirk, MB Promoting Aboriginal Student Success Lord Selkirk School Division Indigenous community

Is there an opportunity to be apart of a community through your place of employment? Is it encouraged and promoted? If so, how do they co exist? Yes there is. In all areas where I consider to be part of a community there is a sense of connection. It’s promoted and encouraged continuously as we understand that growth comes from numerous positive connections.

What are you proud of? Proud of being an individual that works to promote Indigenous academic achievement in all areas of my professional and volunteer life.

What is something you could do differently within your community? Something I could do differently is to have more people aware of what we are doing for P.A.S.S. and have more parental/community involvement.

What is the hardest decision you've had to make? Hardest decision was to decide to go to university. To take a huge cut in pay and lose some financial security so that I can have better success later in life to support myself and my family.

Who inspired you, who do you admire? My mom and dad have always inspired me. They have done volunteer work in our community for years, and that was instilled in me as a child growing up.

How do you stay motivated? Seeing the young people I work with. Seeing their successes in life, knowing that I got to be a part of it in some way.

What do you want to accomplish next? I want to continue volunteering for PASS, but I also want to become an admin in my school division. I want to be a driving force for Indigenous education here in our community.

What is your biggest barrier? Biggest barrier is always financial. I have to write proposal after proposal to hopefully get what we need in order to support the Indigenous students in our community.

In your dream world, how would your community look? My community would be easily accessible. It would provide services all the time for those that need it and benefit from it without having to rely on government funding etc. It would just be a fundamental part of our community structure.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page