top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarly Chartier

Jenn Cheys

Updated: Aug 20, 2020

Selkirk Manitoba Your Story

I grew up with my 3 brothers one being my twin. We grew up camping and exploring and now I do the same as an adult. I parents were together up until the day of my Father's passing in 2016. I spend most of my time outside with my dog and boyfriend or on the couch watching Netflix. My mother and brothers lives in BC and Saskatchewan so we get to visit there often. I'm known as the Mom friend even though I won't be having kids since I try and take care of them all.

Where are you from ? St.Andrews

Where do you live now? Selkirk

Where do you work? What do they provide and what is your role? I work at Insurance. We provide home, tenant, auto, ORV, Boat, travel, event and life Insurance. My role is a Customer Service Representative - Autopac Agent

How did you end up working where you do now? A few of the employees and owner would come into my workplace so I had gotten to know them so I had a good referrals. I only had to learn the insurance part since I had experience in customer service.

Where do you volunteer? I volunteer with Swimmingly Manitoba , formally Swimability. We meet at the Selkirk Comp

How did you find yourself as a volunteering there? I found an add on Facebook for volunteers needed in Winnipeg and I loved the idea of the program I just couldn't commit to driving in for it. I continued to follow their Facebook page and seen they were expanding to Selkirk so I contacted someone right away.

What does your volunteering provide? One on one swimming with children living with disabilities

What does a community mean to you? For me it means a safe place for people of all ages to live and enjoy.


What community are you apart of ? It's a non profit organization

Who else is involved in your community? We have a coordinator Alida in our region. All the volunteers , the participants and their parents and siblings even. You really get to know their whole family sometimes.

How does everyone work together within your community? When we are in the water we often play in a group closer to the end of the session. Or we give each other ideas on what to play or try, encourage each other and just have fun together.

What are the challenges your community faces? We could always use volunteers but it has been the pool. There has been many renovations in the last 4 years, taking away from the kids swimming time but ultimately making it possible.

What do you think is the impact of your community? What do they offer to others or those involved? I they they provide a great affordable program for kids that not only makes them comfortable in the water but allows them to socialize.

What is something you would like to create in your community or group? It would be really fun to try the program in an outdoor pool or even a lake if possible

What is your biggest reason for being apart of your community? I really love to swim but I also love to help people

What has been the best outcome of your community? do you have a success story you'd like to share? I think the best outcome has been seeing these kids evolve and get stronger in the water.

How has your involvement or work in the community changed you? How are your a different person now because of it? I think it's changed me to make me more fearless. These kids can do anything and it's amazing.

What are some of the lessons you have learned? I've learned to listen better to nonverbal cues and to just be young again

Why do you want to share your community? What do you feel its is important to let others know? I want to share Swimmingly because it has been so fun to be apart and provides such a valuable service to families.

What is one thing you really want others to know about your community or group? That's it's there! It is a newer program in Selkirk so I just want people to know it's there

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page