top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarly Chartier

Kristin Malenfant

Updated: Aug 20, 2020

WPG MB / SELKIRK MB

What does community mean to you? Community is a group of people with something in common. Could be the place that they live, or an interest. But community is also a feeling of fellowship and support. Community is shared resources and information. It is a sense of belonging, and interpersonal connection.

What communities are you apart of? I'm a part of the community that is my family. I'm a part of the community at my place of employment. I'm a part of my neighborhood community. The community of parents, staff and children at my child's daycare. I'm a part of the Winnipeg Public Library's community. I'm a part of the Red River Community College Alum community.

Is there an opportunity to be apart of a community through your place of employment? Is it encouraged and promoted? If so, how do they co exist? I am a part of the general community at large (by default) at my place of work. Though there are several active, smaller communities within that general group, my position doesn't fit easily into any of them so I am a fringe member of a few of them. I do not feel encouraged to join any, though I do try to make an effort on my own.

What are you proud of? I'm proud of the home I've built with my partner. I'm proud of our wonderful daughter. I'm proud that I got my priorities in order to create a life for my family, but I balance that structure with fun. I'm proud of completing me education, and getting the job of my dreams. I'm proud of actively encouraging literacy on a daily basis.

What is something you could do differently within your community? Encourage more inclusivity, work harder at making those on the outside feel comfortable in.

What is the hardest decision you've had to make? In my life? I am very lucky that most have my major decisions haven't been hard ones, but that I leaned into them with instinct for self preservation and happiness. I suppose moving to, and then moving home from Thailand was a big one. Also the decision to allow the doctor's to move ahead with an unplanned c-section, when I so badly wanted a natural birth was a hard one.

Who inspired you, who do you admire? Oprah Winfrey, Dalai Lama, Malala Yousafzai,

How do you stay motivated? I take pleasure in completing challenging tasks, so that motivates me. Seeing positive change from my efforts is very motivating. Working hard to provide comfort, security and joy for my family.

What do you want to accomplish next? I'd like to achieve the next level in my education, to better solidify my position at work and get a substantial pay raise and more responsibility. I'd like to volunteer more often, and hold a successful "house concert" fundraiser for a local women's non profit before the year is up. I'd like to launch a reading initiative encouraging young "reluctant readers", with a focus on young males. And I'd like to clean out my garage.

What is your biggest barrier? Time. Caring for a young child is time consuming. Motivation, sometimes it's hard just to take the first step.

In your dream world, how would your community look? Infinitely supportive. I think more energy in taking care of and encouraging one another. If everyone helped someone out some of the time, we'd all be better off.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page