top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarly Chartier

Lisa Sigurdson

Selkirk MB

Your Story I am a mother of two children, one is 11 and one is 19. I worked in Selkirk for many years as a hairstylist and later went back to College to get my Business Accounting and Management Certificate. I love travel, fishing and reading.

Where are you from ? I was born in BC but grew up in winnipeg and Selkirk.

Where do you live now? I live in Selkirk.

Where do you work? What do they provide and what is your role? I work at Ecole Selkirk Jr High School as an account clerk.

How did you end up working where you do now? They had an opening and I applied for it.

Where do you volunteer? I volunteer for the MS Society.

How did you find yourself as a volunteering there? My sister and uncle have MS so that lead to me getting involved.

What does your volunteering provide? I have organized the volunteers for the Selkirk walk to provide street marshalls, cash collectors, photographers, entertainment and guest speakers. I have raised money for the MS Society through my team Karlas Krew. I have obtained sponsorship for the walk as well.

What does a community mean to you? It means we have a place to live and raise our kids and be supported.

What community are you apart of ? I am a part of the MS Society, my workplace, and Selkirk.

Who else is involved in your community? Lots of people, my family, friends, coworkers.

How does everyone work together within your community? On various ways. My MS team altogether to achieve specific goals for fundraising, my coworkers all do their parts for the school to run.

What are the challenges your community faces? Finding ways to raise money and get more people involved for the MS society.

What do you think is the impact of your community? What do they offer to others or those involved? I think the impact of the MS Walk is huge. It shows people living with MS that they are not alone and that so many people are working to help support them and ultimately find a cure.

What is something you would like to create in your community or group? A new annual event to raise money.

What is your biggest reason for being apart of your community? I am motivated by trying to fund research to find a cure for my sister.

What has been the best outcome of your community? do you have a success story you'd like to share? Karlas Krew has raised just over $50,000 so far, that is a success. It took 8 fun events and personal fundraising efforts.

How has your involvement or work in the community changed you? How are your a different person now because of it? It has made me more organized, and aware of how much if a struggle it is for people living with MS. It has made me good negotiator, money collector, event planner, telephone solicitor, sign maker, and team leader.

What are some of the lessons you have learned? I have learned that if you work hard you can reach your goals.

Why do you want to share your community? What do you feel its is important to let others know? We are getting so close to a cure for MS, people just need to keep supporting so that we get there. Also, we have a great support group for people living with MS in Selkirk.


What is one thing you really want others to know about your community or group? We are getting so close to a cure for MS, people just need to keep supporting so that we get there. Also, we have a great support group for people living with MS in Selkirk.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page