top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarly Chartier

Patrick Thomas

Updated: Aug 21, 2020


Your Story


Who are you ? Patrick Thomas, my spirit name is - Nepetekwanep (feathers in a row) I am the coordinator of a crime prevention program in Winnipeg

Where are you from ? pimicikamak cree nation, Selkirk Manitoba

Where do you live now? Winnipeg

Where do you work? What do they provide and what is your role? Ka Ni Kanichihk. We provide Indigenous identified programs and services that focus on wholeness and wellness and that build on the strengths and resilience of Indigenous peoples. We do this to help people to help themselves, to build healthy relationships and to create a sustainable future for our community. I am the coordinator of Kistesimaw, a crime prevention program.

How did you end up working where you do know? Applying by my sister in laws suggestion.

Where do you volunteer? I do not volunteer at this time ( covid)


What does a community mean to you? A group of quality humans that recognize my resilience that also supports my growth as an individual. A group that aims to strengthen my spirit, well being, kinships and the relationship circles that are beyond that.

What community are you apart of ? Thomas Family Sundance - Blacksmith Family Sundance - Ka Ni Kanichihk

Who else is involved in your community? Coworkers, family members and friends of family.

How does everyone work together within your community? Professionally and usually though Ceremony

What are the challenges your community faces? The loss of control over the land, children, mental, physical and spiritual well-being.

What do you think is the impact of your community? What do they offer to others or those involved? ultimately a path to holistic wellbeing through ceremony, gatherings, knowledge sharing and supportiveness.

What is something you would like to create in your community or group? A non judgmental or non harmful way to deliver programming and ceremonies to the community from government funded programming. I am being more specific to incentives and funding requirements to keep a program running. this creates a cycle of some participants attending solely for incentive while providing the program with the "successful" attendance stats while no meaningful growth is taking place. in short you can't force a person into their own healing. They have to choose healing when they are ready for it.

What is your biggest reason for being apart of your community? I grew up on a reserve that didn't support me growing up as a traditional indigenous child. When I became the employee of an indigenous organization, they taught me why that was and that they recognize my value and that they supported my return from the settler indoctrination to reclaim my identity that my parents, ancestors and creator blessed me with. This is the true action that a community takes for its members. that being said, I don't have any negativity towards my reserve, I have the understanding which is more powerful. I'd like to return to pimicikamak one day to see the community and revive relationships.

What has been the best outcome of your community? do you have a success story you'd like to share? Well, there are children that are ready to return to who they are at such a young age and that I get to observe and be a part of that journey with them is fulfilling.

How has your involvement or work in the community changed you? How are your a different person now because of it? I know who I am and the direction I am going in.

What are some of the lessons you have learned? that It's good to be vulnerable and a community will support you in your most vulnerable time. Ive learned this from the Sundance communities and the organization that I work for.

Why do you want to share your community? What do you feel its is important to let others know? To investigate your traditions and if you aren't able to connect with those that carry them, indigenous peoples are inclusive to those that want to learn.

What is one thing you really want others to know about your community or group? To honour the spirit of our ancestors and seek their wisdom to guide our peoples back to balance and wellness. Our people have come home. We are self-determining, healthy, happy and respected for our cultural and spiritual strengths and ways of being.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page