top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarly Chartier

Tara Campbell

Updated: Aug 7, 2020

Name

Tara campbell Your Story Who are you ? I am a wife and mother of 8 koko to 4 grandchildren I have always been protective and caring of children and families from an early age. I am a caring helpful hardworking traditional woman who believes in building and supporting my community I became a youth care worker in my early 20s, was a single mom in housing, and I worked to help give youth love support and healing. I worked at various group homes and organizations. I then started working more with families and I found domestic abuse happened too often with the families I was working with so I then began working in women’s shelters. Ceremony is a way of life for me, I can’t live without it. I began work as a cultural teacher in some school divisions as well. I helped start up Selkirk’s bear clan years ago as well as a woman and men’s drum group. I believe strongly in supporting families and kids to have a happy healthy life. I have love and care for people and always want to bring out the best in others. Where are you from ? Sagkeeng and Scotland on my moms side and Ireland & England on my dads side Where do you live now? Selkirk Where do you work? What do they provide and what is your role? I work at ikwe woman’s shelter. They provide safety ,counselling , cultural teachings and resources for women and men fleeing domestic abuse I am a counsellor there. I work at school divisions. My role is cultural teacher. How did you end up working where you do now? I was determined to work where our most vulnerable are that need help and support. Where do you volunteer? Bear clan How did you find yourself as a volunteering there? I wanted to help people feel safe What does your volunteering provide? Safety support resources What does a community mean to you? It means a surrounding of nieghbours and or family who care support And are there for eachother. Community should be a safe caring fun place where most people know eachother and can pull together in good or hard times What community are you apart of ? Community of selkirk. Community of gimli. Ikwe community. School community. Community of women drum group. Community of growing years and Headstart. Bear clan community Two spirit community Who else is involved in your community? Counsellor s. Teachers. Elders. Women children. Families How does everyone work together within your community? When someone is low on food. Or needs safety. Help. Picking up needles help with kids ect selkirk comes together and always reaches out What are the challenges your community faces? Some judgement. Needs to be more open mindness and also more open to indigenous learning and culture. What do you think is the impact of your community? What do they offer to others or those involved? What is something you would like to create in your community or group? More growth in women’s and men’s cultural group. A powwow club. More growth in bear clan. Hard to do right now with Covid more family related events. Nieghbour s helping neighbor s What is your biggest reason for being apart of your community? I believe in supporting families to be happy and strong What has been the best outcome of your community? do you have a success story you'd like to share? Every time people reach out and help eachother which happens a lot. Many success stories when you see people healing and doing better 😁 How has your involvement or work in the community changed you? How are your a different person now because of it? I’m inspired daily. Women starting over with NOTHING. No self esteem, no belongings, ids plus have kids to take care of and loved while beaten down physically and mentally I’ve become way less judgemental and I’ve become very kind and loving What are some of the lessons you have learned? Everyone has a gift. Humility. Teachings of the medicine wheel to share and accept all. To have self care. A tiny bit of help and love can change someone. Why do you want to share your community? What do you feel its is important to let others know? Try not to judge. Be kind. Be protective and assertive but try not to close off. Be helpful to eachother. Watch out for the children What is one thing you really want others to know about your community or group? Selkirk is mostly a friendly fun caring city

Submitted 27/07/2020, 00:11

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page