top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarly Chartier

Terri Button

Updated: Aug 20, 2020

Lac DuBonnet

What does community mean to you Community means a sense of belonging and your roots!

What communities are you apart of? Selkirk- work, Kitchener Waterloo-where I was born and Lac du Bonnet-live

Is there an opportunity to be apart of a community through your place of employment? Is it encouraged and promoted? If so, how do they co exist? Aboriginal Head Start in Selkirk is always involved in their community. We do many events with the staff and children. Parade, Holiday Alley, craft sale, Santa community Xmas party, field trips with the children all around the community, we play in the parks, etc Also we are so involved with the families of the children( community members). We provide workshops, resources and support to all who need or want.

What are you proud of? I’m proud of choosing this new job and spreading my wings in a different community. It has open many doors and opportunities to grow in my career field! I am proud I am part of all my communities and have children to grow up in such great environments.

What is something you could do differently within your community? Just learn how I can do more and become more involved throughout the year!

What is the hardest decision you've had to make? Probably having my daughter at the age of 21! I was not ready and didn’t know what I wanted to do in life but I got my act together, bought a house, made sure a had a job, and a car!

Who inspired you, who do you admire? My biggest inspirations were all my teachers, elementary, high school and college. They have molded me into I am today. I will forever be grateful of their support, push, and relationships! My mom was also a huge factor in my life. Single mom made sure I had everything even though she was going through hard times!

How do you stay motivated? My kids keep me motivated, they keep me on my toes and I just want to better myself for them!

What do you want to accomplish next? I want to further my career in early childhood education. Become a role model to many and just be present in life!

What is your biggest barrier? My biggest barrier is my stubbornness and my fear of the unknown. I like what I like and I fear what I don’t know!

In your dream world, how would your community look? Togetherness, belonging, helpfulness, clean, generations, children playing, and safe!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page